The University of Texas at Dallas

Endowed Chairs and Professorships

Dr. Theodore J. Price

School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences

The McDermott Professorships were established in August 2017, funded by an anonymous gift, with the goal of providing early career support and recognition to faculty members who have established extraordinary records of research productivity, teaching excellence and university service, and who show promise of being leaders of the UT Dallas faculty in the future.

Price is co-founder and co-director of the Pain Neurobiology Research Group.

When I first set foot on the UTD campus in 1993 as a 19-year-old freshman, I never could have imagined that I would one day receive such an honor from the institution that has given me so much already. Our scientific work is focused on understanding what causes chronic pain and discovering new ways to treat this most common and often disabling disease. The talented students and postdocs, collaborators throughout the UT System, and resources that UTD has helped us assemble give me confidence that our understanding of chronic pain is advancing at an accelerating pace. We are getting closer and closer to developing new therapeutics that will improve the lives of people with intractable pain. This is our goal.

Professor of Neuroscience and Program Head, Neuroscience BS
Eugene McDermott Professor

Dr. Theodore J. Price’s research concerns how the nervous system’s ability to adapt alters how it receives pain-related information and how this nervous system plasticity is a major driver for chronic pain.

His studies have discovered several novel targets that regulate the excitability of sensory neurons after injury and that mediate plasticity in the central nervous system, causing pain to become chronic.

Price also has pursued several potential non-opioid pain treatments, and has demonstrated significant differences in how pain begins for males and females at the cellular level.

Price has published more than 90 peer-reviewed articles in international journals, including the Journal of Neuroscience, Pain, Nature Reviews Neuroscience, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences and PLOS Biology. He serves as the pharmacology section editor for the European Journal of Pain and is on the editorial boards for the Journal of Neuroscience, Pain and the European Journal of Neuroscience. He is also a permanent member of the Somatosensory and Pain National Institutes of Health Study Section.

Price received the Patrick D. Wall Young Investigator Award from the International Association for the Study of Pain. He also received the John C. Liebeskind Early Career Scholar Award from the American Pain Society and the Buhrmester Rising Star Award from UT Dallas.

Price graduated from UT Dallas in 1998 with a bachelor’s in neuroscience, working with Dr. Alice O’Toole on human face perception. He then received his PhD in 2003 from The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.

He was then a postdoctoral fellow at McGill University until 2007, developing the first studies on how local control of protein synthesis in neurons is involved in the development of chronic pain disorders.

From 2007-2014, he was a faculty member of The University of Arizona College of Medicine where he further developed work on nervous system plasticity in relation to pain.

He returned to UT Dallas as an associate professor in 2014 and was named professor in 2018.