The University of Texas at Dallas

Endowed Chairs and Professorships

Dr. Sheila Amin Gutiérrez de Piñeres

Former Chairs

An anonymous contribution created the chair. Piñeres was appointed in August 2010.

With expertise in the economic development of Latin America, Piñeres served in numerous administrative posts throughout her tenure at UT Dallas.

Research shapes teaching agendas; mentoring guides students toward reaching their potential; policy work has led to grants to support undergraduates; and administrative service focuses on how to better serve undergraduates.

Former Mary McDermott Cook Distinguished Chair for Undergraduate Education and Research

Dr. Sheila Amin Gutiérrez de Piñeres joined UT Dallas in 1996 and served as associate dean for undergraduate education in EPPS and as head of the public policy and political economy program. She directed the Office of Enrollment Services from 2006 to 2008, while serving as associate provost. In 2010, she served as interim dean of libraries.

During 2009, she led an initiative to secure UT Dallas’ presence at the Collin Higher Education Center in McKinney, a partnership among UT Dallas, Collin College and four other area universities.

Under her tenure, the Office of Undergraduate Education helped launch a student research journal, The Exley, in 2011.

“Undergraduate research has the potential to be a defining experience in a student’s academic career. It allows them the opportunity to explore new ideas and concepts while learning how to test them,” Piñeres said.

Piñeres received her PhD in economics from Duke University in 1992 and joined UT Dallas in 1996, coming from a faculty position at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville. She is the author of Guns, Drugs & Development in Colombia with Kevin M. Curtin and fellow EPPS professor Jennifer Holmes. She also is the author or co-author of numerous articles on such topics as development economics, international economics and Latin America.

Piñeres was among 38 recipients of the 2010 UT System Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award for tenured faculty. Last year she participated in the prestigious American Council of Education Fellows program.